riffing on an already improvised recipe

Waking up to the pitter-patter of raindrops on my window, slowly getting out of bed, looking out to see the dark day – I knew this was a day for muffins.

What kind of muffins was the question. Looking in the fridge and cupboards, I saw I had the makings of something interesting. I did a quick search and found something close to what I wanted to make. Something with beets, apples, olive oil, and maple syrup. Something dairy- and egg-free, which is something I haven’t yet dared to attempt.

I found a recipe that was an improvised version of another recipe, and I improvised on that using local and/or organic ingredients. I like to try new things in the kitchen with whatever I have available, and I’m usually pretty lucky with the results. Here’s the recipe I concocted, based on this one here.

Improvised beet-apple-orange muffins

  • 1 1/2 cups flour
    (I used 1/2 cup spelt & 1 cup half white bread flour, both organic Farmer Ground Flour from NY State)
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • pinch of mace
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1/2 cup hemp milk
    (you could use almond or soy)
  • zest of 2 oranges
  • 1 cup shredded apple
  • 1 cup roasted shredded beets
  • juice of half an orange
  • cashew pieces

Mix dry ingredients, except for sugar. In a separate bowl, mix wet ingredients plus sugar. Combine dry and wet ingredients, just coating the dry ones (don’t overmix). Fill a greased or lined muffin tin. Drop some cashew pieces on top for some extra flavor and crunch.

Bake at 350 degrees for about 15 to 20 minutes (my oven took 20 minutes).

Enjoy your pink, healthful & delicious treat!

Yum!

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “riffing on an already improvised recipe”

  1. Adriana Says:

    Oooh! I have almost all of those ingredients, including beets I’ve been avoiding all week. I’m so making these–thanks for the recipe!

  2. Liz Says:

    You’re most welcome! I was surprised at how moist and delicious they turned out… let me know how it goes for you.

Leave a Reply

